Skip Navigation


Security Levels

USCG: IMO Sub-Committees

Please note: Some of the Web sites listed below are not federal government Web sites, and may not necessarily operate under the same laws, regulations and policies as federal Web sites.

The IMO consists of seven technical Sub-Committees which support the work of the five policy-making Committees. The Sub-Committees are under the direct instructions of the Maritime Safety Committee (MSC) and the Marine Environment Protection Committee (MEPC). Like the Committee sessions, the Sub-Committee sessions are attended by maritime experts from Member Governments, together with those from interested intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations.

Nine Sub-Committees, BLG, COMSAR, DE, DSC, FP, FSI, NAV, SLF, and STW, that existed up until 2013, were amalgamated into seven. Each new Sub-Committee was provided with new terms of reference and will meet under thier new names and terms of reference beginning in January, 2014. This reorganization resulted from a recent initiative by the IMO to become more efficient with resources. A brief description of the relationship between the old and new Sub-Committees is provided here.

The work of the seven Sub-Committees is described by their titles, as follows:

Contact Information

For question or more information about the Coast Guard's work with the IMO, please contact:

Commercial Regulations and Standards (CG-5PS)
U.S. Coast Guard Headquarters
Address 2100 Second Street, SW
Washington, DC 20593
Email LCDR Matt Frazee
Download Plug-Ins: Some of the links on this page require a plug-in to view them. Links to the plug-ins are available below.
Click Here to Download Adobe Acrobat Reader Adobe Acrobat Reader (PDF)
Last Modified 1/12/2016