Security Levels

National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) check current status
Office of Leadership and Professional Development Header

                     DHS Sponsored NPS Cyber Security                Certificate Program

About the Course/Eligibility

The Cyber Security Fundamentals graduate certificate is intended to provide a rigorous foundation upon which to build knowledge and skills in computer network defense, attack and exploitation.

 This certificate provides participants with the knowledge and skills to: describe the possible policies that enforce cyber and cyber-physical systems; understand the synergistic nature of cyber security, ranging from the effective use of hardware and the application of security in system architectures to effective user interfaces and clear documentation; develop and deploy procedures for securing information assets on IT systems in the face of cyber attacks; and understand network security threats and vulnerabilities and learn how, combined with well analyzed and vetted protocols, information will be protected in distributed systems.


The graduate certificate consists of 4 courses and is offered online through the NPS learning system.  The program duration is for 6 months, with two courses per quarter.


Additional information is available at the Naval Postgraduate School’s website.


Federal employees who have been with DHS for at least one year, and are GS-9, WS-8; Wage grade equivalents or above to include are eligible to apply.; WS 14-18; WL 14-15; and O2-O6 levels.

Application Deadline:  12NOON ON 1 February 2013

Application Procedures

Click HERE for Application!

All applications MUST be submitted via DHS will make selections for this program.


Download Plug-Ins
Download Plug-Ins: Some of the links on this page require a plug-in to view them. Links to the plug-ins are available below.
Click Here to Download Adobe Acrobat Reader Adobe Acrobat Reader (PDF) Click Here to Download MS Word viewer MS Word
Last Modified 9/19/2013