Security Levels

Station Gulfport

                                   Coast Guard Station Gulfport Command
                             OIC: BMCS Rebecca Polzin
                             XPO BMC Eric Best
                             EPO: MK1 Randall Anderson




Eric Best

BMC, US Coast Guard



Chief  Eric M. Best assumed the duties as the Executive Petty Officer of Coast Guard Station Gulfport, Mississippi in June of 2012. As Executive Petty Officer, he is second in command and ensures 34 enlisted active duty members and 10 enlisted Coast Guard reservists carry out their missions of search and rescue; maritime law enforcement; ports, waterways, and coastal security; and marine environmental protection.


In his previous assignment, Chief Best was the Executive Petty Officer of USCGC MORAY (WPB-87331) home ported in Down East Maine. His other assignments include Operations Petty Officer aboard USCGC LONG ISLAND (WPB-1342) home ported in Valdez, Alaska; Boatswain’s Mate First Class aboard Coast Guard Station and Aids to Navigation Team Burlington, Vermont; Boatswain’s Mate Third Class aboard USCGC HAMMERHEAD (WPB-87302) home ported in Woods Hole, Massachusetts.


Chief Best graduated from Coast Guard Recruit Training Center Cape May, NJ in September 2002. He is a graduate of Coast Guard Chief Petty Officer Academy class 193. His personal awards include the CG Commendation Medal, and two CG Achievement Medals in addition to other unit and personal awards. Chief Best has earned both the permanent Coxswain and Permanent Cutterman Pins for service in the cutter fleet and boat forces community.


Chief Best is a native of Mobile, AL. He is married to Lauralee Aksdal Best of Fairfax, Vermont. They have to young children ages five and three, Grace Anne and Gavin.





Last Modified 8/1/2014