Skip Navigation


Security Levels

Image D7 Logo



Commander T.J. Walcott
Chaplain Corps United States Navy
USCG D7 Chaplain

Chaplain Walcott reported aboard at District Seven in August 2012. As the D7 Command Chaplain he leads a team of 7 Active Duty/Naval Reserve Chaplains.  He also serves as chaplain for Sector Miami, Air Station Miami, Tactical Law Enforcement Team South, Maritime Safety Security Team 91114, and Homeland Security Task Force SE.

Chaplain Walcott was ordained as a minister in the Christian Reformed Church in 1984. His studies include a BA from Calvin College in Grand Rapids Michigan, a Master of Divinity from Calvin Theological Seminary and a Doctor of Ministry (focused on Pastoral Care and Disaster Response) from Fuller Theological Seminary in Pasadena, CA.

Before coming on active duty as a chaplain Rev. Walcott was a missionary in the Dominican Republic (1985-1990) and the pastor of Baymeadows Community Church in Jacksonville, Florida (1991-1996).

Prior to reporting to Miami, Chaplain Walcott was the Deputy Director for Manpower, Training, and Education for the Chief of Navy Chaplain in Washington D.C.  (2009-2012).  He served on a 13 months Individual Augmentee assignment in Iraq on the staff of Multi-National Forces Iraq meeting with Iraqi religious leaders (February 2008-March 2009).  Commander Walcott was Deputy Command Chaplain and Senior Protestant Chaplain at Naval Station Rota Spain from May 2005-July 2009).  As CVW-2 Chaplain from 2003-2005 he deployed with the Abraham Lincoln Carrier Strike Group and responded to the 2004 Tsunami in Indonesia.  As the USCG District Nine Western Region Chaplain from 1998-2003 he was responsible for all Coast Guard units on Lake Michigan and Lake Superior. He deployed with PSU 309 to Bahrain in early 2001 and responded to the attacks on the World Trade Center in New York City in the weeks following 9-11.  His first active duty assignment (1996-1998) was with MAG-16, 3rd MAW, at Marine Corps Air Station El Toro, California.

His personal decorations include the Defense Meritorious Service Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal, the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal with two Gold Stars, the Coast Guard Commendation Medal with one Gold Star, the 9-11 Medal, the Joint Service Achievement Medal, and the Navy Achievement Medal.

Last Modified 5/11/2015