The Commonwealth of Massachusetts has strict gun control laws which govern the possession and use of firearms.
There is a mandatory one-year prison sentence for persons convicted of violating these
A two-year temporary permit for out-of-state armed forces personnel serving in
Massachusetts must be obtained by making
application within 30 days of arrival.
Pleast complete this
APPLICATION FORM and take it to your local licensing authority.
(Local Police Department).
Do NOT mail to The Firearms Record Bureau.
Cost of the permit is $100.00 (two-year license) and
the application requires the CO’s signature.
Weapons may be shipped with household goods via an authorized interstate/common carrier.
If transported in your vehicle they must be in the trunk, unloaded, in a case and serial numbers must be annotated on your official
Base Rules and Regulations
On base, weapons may only be in your vehicle while being transported for legitimate reason.
(i.e. enroute hunting or target range).
At other times the weapon may be stored in family
housing or off-base quarters.
A Massachusetts firearms identification card must be
obtained to store or transport handguns within the state.
Individuals that will be living in the
barracks must keep their weapons in the base armory.